Does homeschool have to be accredited in Georgia?

Accreditation is not required in order to complete a home study program. Additionally, accreditation is not required for admission into colleges, universities, and technical schools. Accreditation is also not required for eligibility for Georgia’s HOPE/Zell Miller Scholarships or HOPE/Zell Miller Grants.

How do I legally homeschool in Georgia?

Georgia Homeschool Requirements

  1. Parents must have a high school diploma or its equivalent.
  2. Parents must submit an annual Declaration of Intent to Utilize a Home Study Program by September 1 or within 30 days of establishing their homeschool.

Does GA require testing for homeschoolers?

Yes, homeschoolers in Georgia are required to take standardized tests per Georgia homeschooling laws. Georgia homeschool standardized testing must take place every 3 years starting with the 3rd grade.

How do homeschoolers in Georgia get a diploma?

The State of Georgia requires students to accumulate a minimum of 23 credit units in order to be awarded a high school diploma. Homeschool students are not required to comply with this requirement, and very often accumulate more than 23 credits.

Is abeka accredited in Georgia?

FACCS. Abeka Academy Accredited program, having satisfied the accreditation standards of the Florida Association of Christian Colleges and Schools (FACCS) [1429 Bethel Church Road, Omega, GA 31775; Telephone: (850) 422-0065; email: [email protected]] has been awarded the status of Full Accreditation.

Is homeschooling free in Georgia?

The curriculum is free for pre-k to twelfth grade, and includes all major subjects. You may use our curriculum any way you like: part time, full time and supplement to it.

How do I transfer from homeschool to public school in Georgia?

If you wish to return your child to public school, you may do so at any time. You can create a withdrawal form and give it to the local school. The local school must validate each content area your child/children took while being enrolled in a home study program. This validation process is unique to each district.

Can parents go to jail for child missing school in Georgia?

Georgia’s Compulsory School Attendance Law states that more than five unexcused absences constitute truancy. The law also states parents or guardians of truant children face stiff consequences like $100 fines, up to 30 days of jail time and community service.