Does Windows 2008 support NTLMv2?

In Windows Vista, Windows Server 2008, Windows 7, and Windows Server 2008 R2, the default is Send NTLMv2 response only.

Does Windows XP support NTLMv2?

All supported Microsoft operating systems provide NTLMv2 authentication capabilities. Systems that are affected in a default configuration are primarily at risk, such as systems that are running Microsoft Windows NT 4, Windows 2000, Windows XP, and Windows Server 2003.

How do I enable NTLMv2?

Click down to “Local Computer Policy -> Computer Configuration -> Windows Settings -> Security Settings -> Local Policies -> Security Options. Find the policy “Network Security: LAN Manager authentication level”. Right click on this policy and choose “Properties”. Choose “Send NTLMv2 response only/refuse LM & NTLM”.

Is NTLMv2 enabled?

NT LAN Manager (including LM, NTLM v1, v2, and NTLM2) is enabled and active in Server 2016 by default, as its still used for local logon (on non-domain controllers) and workgroup logon authentication in Server 2016. You can restrict and/or disable NTLM authentication via Group Policy.

What is the difference between NTLMv1 and NTLMv2?

The difference lies in the challenge and in the way the challenge is encrypted: While NTLMv2 provides a variable-length challenge, the challenge used by NTLMv1 is always a sixteen byte random number. NTLMv1 uses a weak DES algorithm to encrypt the challenge with the user’s hash.

Is NTLMv2 deprecated?

Following this end of availability, on October 24, 2019, the NTLM protocol-based authentication will be deprecated and will no longer be available in VMware Identity Manager.

What is the main difference between NTLM and net NTLMv2?

NTLMv2 (A.K.A. Net-NTLMv2) This is the new and improved version of the NTLM protocol, which makes it a bit harder to crack. The concept is the same as NTLMv1, only different algorithm and responses sent to the server.

Is it possible to disable NTLMv2?

To do it, create a DWORD parameter with the name LmCompatibilityLevel and the value 0-5 in the registry key HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Lsa. Value 5 corresponds to the policy option “Send NTLMv2 response only. Refuse LM NTLM”.

Does Windows 7 use NTLMv2?

The default for Windows 7 is to only use NTLMv2 which is the most secure protocol.

Is NTLMv2 same as Kerberos?

The main difference between NTLM and Kerberos is in how the two protocols manage authentication. NTLM relies on a three-way handshake between the client and server to authenticate a user. Kerberos uses a two-part process that leverages a ticket granting service or key distribution center.

Is NTLMv2 vulnerable?

NTLM is a rather veteran authentication protocol and quite vulnerable for relatively easy to initiate attacks. The fact that it is not secure, doesn’t make it easier to move to a better protocol (such as Kerberos), since many functions are dependent on it.