How many exons are in the EGFR gene?

28 exons
EGFR Gene, Molecular Structure and Function EGFR is composed of 28 exons and encodes a protein of 1210 amino acids (ENST00000275493, Ensembl v69) [Article:11752248]. Multiple alternatively spliced transcript variants that encode different protein isoforms have been found [Article:16925834].

What is EGFR exon?

Background: Epidermal growth factor receptor gene (EGFR) exon 20 insertion (ex20-ins) mutations are an uncommon and heterogeneous group of non-small cell lung cancers (NSCLCs), resistant to conventional EGFR tyrosine kinase inhibitors (TKIs).

What are EGFR exon 20 insertions?

EGFR exon 20 insertion mutations are heterogeneous at the molecular level but can be characterized as inframe insertions or duplications of between 3 and 21 bp (corresponding to 1 to 7 amino acids) clustered between amino acid positions 762 and 774 of the EGFR protein.

How many domains are present in the EGFR protein?

(A) The domain composition of human EGFR is shown. The extracellular region contains four domains: Domain I (amino acids 1–165), domain II (amino acids 165–310), domain III (amino acids 310–480), and domain IV (amino acids 480–620). Domains I and III are closely related in sequence, as are domains II and IV.

What chromosome is EGFR on?

chromosome 7
The human EGFR gene is located on chromosome 7 at position 7p11.

What causes EGFR exon 20?

The EGFR exon 20 mutation in non–small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) is a progressive and genetic disease that can occur regardless of smoking history, with response to conventional chemotherapy tending to be very poor in these populations, said Christopher Arendt, PhD, head of the Oncology Therapeutic Area Unit at Takeda.

What is abnormal EGFR?

There are five stages: Stage 1 (eGFR of 90 or higher) indicates mild kidney damage, but your kidneys are working well. Stage 2 (eGFR between 60 and 89) indicates an increase in kidney damage from stage 1, but the kidneys continue to function well.

What is EGFR exon 21 mutation?

EGFR Exon 21 Mutation is an inclusion criterion in 1 clinical trial for non-squamous non-small cell lung carcinoma, of which 1 is open and 0 are closed. Of the trial that contains EGFR Exon 21 Mutation and non-squamous non-small cell lung carcinoma as inclusion criteria, 1 is phase 2 (1 open) [5].