What are the 3 CDC categories of HIV?

With the advancements in treatment, progression to Stage 3 is less common today than in the early days of HIV.

  • Stage 1: Acute HIV Infection.
  • Stage 2: Chronic HIV Infection.
  • Stage 3: Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome (AIDS)

Is HIV classified as an infectious disease?

HIV is a sexually transmitted infection and can also be spread by contact with infected blood or from mother to child during pregnancy, childbirth, or breast-feeding. Without medication, HIV gradually weakens the immune system to the point that an infected individual may develop AIDS.

Is HIV Category A or B?

Category B consists of symptomatic conditions in an HIV-infected adolescent or adult that are not included among conditions listed in clinical Category C and that meet at least one of the following criteria: a) the conditions are attributed to HIV infection or are indicative of a defect in cell-mediated immunity; or b) …

Which category of disease classification is described as having more cases than expected?

Hyperendemic refers to persistent, high levels of disease occurrence. Occasionally, the amount of disease in a community rises above the expected level. Epidemic refers to an increase, often sudden, in the number of cases of a disease above what is normally expected in that population in that area.

What is the difference between epidemic and pandemic disease?

Let’s start with basic definitions: AN EPIDEMIC is a disease that affects a large number of people within a community, population, or region. A PANDEMIC is an epidemic that’s spread over multiple countries or continents.

What are the branches of the CDC?

National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities (NCBDDD)

  • National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (NCCDPHP)
  • National Center for Environmental Health/Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry* (NCEH/ATSDR)
  • National Center for Injury Prevention and Control (NCIPC)