What are the 5 parts of the skeleton?

The Long and the Short of It: The Five Types of Bones

  • Flat Bones Protect Internal Organs.
  • Long Bones Support Weight and Facilitate Movement.
  • Short Bones Are Cube-shaped.
  • Irregular Bones Have Complex Shapes.
  • Sesamoid Bones Reinforce Tendons.

What are the 20 parts of the skeletal system?

The skeleton

  • Skull – including the jaw bone.
  • Spine – cervical, thoracic and lumbar vertebrae, sacrum and tailbone (coccyx)
  • Chest – ribs and breastbone (sternum)
  • Arms – shoulder blade (scapula), collar bone (clavicle), humerus, radius and ulna.
  • Hands – wrist bones (carpals), metacarpals and phalanges.
  • Pelvis – hip bones.

What are the 7 parts of the skeletal system?

7: Skeletal System – Parts of the Skeleton

  • 7.1: The Skull. 7.1A: General Features and Functions of the Skull.
  • 7.2: The Hyoid Bone. 7.2A: The Hyoid Bone.
  • 7.3: The Vertebral Column. 7.3A: General Characteristics of the Spine.
  • 7.4: The Thorax. 7.4A: Thoracic Cage: Sternum.
  • 7.5: The Shoulder.
  • 7.6: The Upper Limb.
  • 7.7: The Hip.

What are the main parts of skeleton?

skeleton summary skeleton, Bony framework of the body. It includes the skull, vertebral column, collarbone, shoulder blades, rib cage, pelvic girdle and the bones of the hands, arms, feet, and legs. The skeleton supports the body and protects its internal organs.

What is the weirdest bone in your body?

the hyoid bone
The one exception is the hyoid bone. The U-shaped hyoid bone sits at the base of the tongue and is held in place by muscles and ligaments from the base of the skull and jaw bones above. This bone enables humans (and our Neanderthal ancestors) to talk, breathe, and swallow.

How are bones named?

Latin was the original language of science, so the bones received Latin names. Some of those were derived from Greek. All were purely descriptive and widely understood, providing that you spoke Latin. For example, the shoulder blade is mostly flat and triangular.