What are the categories of TB treatment?

Rifampin (RIF),

  • Isoniazid (INH),
  • Pyrazinamide (PZA), and.
  • Ethambutol (EMB)
  • What medications are used for Category 3 in dots?

    Objectives: To study the efficacy and safety of Category III DOTS treatment (intermittent thrice-weekly rifampicin [RMP], isoniazid [INH] and pyrazinamide for 2 months, followed by RMP and INH for 4 months) under India’s Revised National Tuberculosis Control Programme in patients with uncomplicated small unilateral …

    What are categories of TB?

    Tuberculosis (TB) may be regarded in two categories: active disease or latent infection. The most common form of active TB is lung disease, but it may invade other organs, so-called “extrapulmonary TB.”

    What causes TB of the spinal cord?

    Predisposing factors for tuberculosis include poverty, overcrowding, illiteracy, malnutrition, alcoholism, drug abuse, diabetes mellitus, immunosuppressive treatment, and HIV infection. These are also predisposing factors for spinal tuberculosis as well.

    What is DOTS and DOTS Plus?

    The DOTS-Plus strategy (the strategy to be tested) includes additional measures including continuous drug resistance surveillance, culture, drug susceptibility testing for TB patients, and tailoring of individual drug regimen through the use of first and second-line drugs. Other: Directly Observed Therapy (DOTS) plus.

    Is Spinal TB curable?

    Antibiotics are usually prescribed as the mainstay for spinal TB. Patients must remember to adhere to the medication schedule to be able to get cured completely. Skipping therapy or medication can make the disease worse and lead to drug resistance as well in some cases. Surgery is needed only in about 20% of the cases.

    Can spinal TB be cured without surgery?

    In the mean time you can be rest assured that spinal tb can often be managed without surgery and is completely curable.

    What is pulmonary tuberculosis Category 1?

    Category 1 was for new smear positive patients with pulmonary TB. Category 2 was for sputum smear positive patients who have relapsed, who have treatment failure or who are receiving treatment after treatment interruption.