What are the levels of kids hockey?


  • Mini Mite (ages 5-6)
  • Mite (ages 7-8)
  • Squirt (ages 9-10)
  • Peewee (ages 11-12)
  • Bantam (ages 13-14)
  • Minor Midget 16 and Under (ages 15-16) (high school junior varsity)
  • Major Midget 18 and Under (ages 15-18) (high school varsity)

What is AA and AAA hockey?

the best players play AAA, AA is for Players who are either a bit below AAA level players or just never got into AAA at an early age but are probably good enough will usually play AA but after a certain age its hard to break into AAA, its not that much worse than or slower than AAA but its less refined.

What are the levels of minor hockey in Canada?

These are the levels of Minor Hockey in Canada.

  • Hockey 1 to 4: Age 6-9.
  • Atom: Age 9-10.
  • Pee Wee: Age 11-12.
  • Bantam: Age 13-14.
  • Midget: Age 15-17.
  • Juvenile: Age 18-19.

What is the difference between AAA and Elite hockey?

Using the FED further, as an example, they have an Elite level and a Tier 1 level. The “Elite” level is the top rung (in that league). What they call “Tier 1” — which they used to call “AAA” — is more akin to a high level rec or town league hockey…but marketed as something much greater.

What are the different tiers of hockey?

USA Hockey designates four skill levels:

  • Tier 1: The highest level of competition, also called “AAA”, following the Canadian system.
  • Tier 2: also called “AA” or “A”.
  • Tier 3: may also be called “A”, the lowest level of competitive hockey.
  • Recreational/Developmental: Includes house league and select.

What is D league hockey?

Geographic Area: The D-League is a USA Hockey and Connecticut Hockey Conference (CHC) Independent program and we will take players from all local travel programs and will allow the players to be registered with their local programs. A player can start in the D-League and move up to travel with their local program.

What is B hockey?

The Dorchester Minor Hockey Association (DMHA) is considered a “BB” (or double B) centre within the Ontario Minor Hockey Association (OMHA). Each centre is classified based on its size within a certain boundary. The classifications are AAA, AA, A, BB, B, CC, C, DD, D.