What are the six jewels of a Masonic lodge?

The Jewels of a Lodge are six: three immovable, and three movable… The Immovable Jewels are the Square, the Level, and the Plumb; and they are termed immovable because they are the jewels of the three principal officers of the Lodge… The Square denotes morality, the Level equality, and the Plumb the rectitude of life.

How do you dress like a Mason?

Freemason etiquette Dark suit – while it is not a stipulation, most Freemasons opt for a black suit as this a versatile option that most will already own and can be worn for a number of events. White shirt. Dark tie – again there is no hard and fast rules, but black appears to be a popular choice. Dark shoes.

Why do Masons wear blue?

While the pale blue represents prudence and goodness, royal blue represents prudence and goodness alone and replaced red at the Court in the Middle Ages when that colour was given to the ‘lower’ classes. The colour blue became associated with the terms of prestige such as ‘blue chip’ and ‘blue blood.

Which hand do you wear your Masonic ring on?

Married men wear their rings on their third ring finger on the opposing hand. The pinky finger is mostly acceptable for wearing your ring and it becomes even more acceptable the further up in the tradition you advance.

What do Masons wear around their waist?

Whereas a masonic apron is worn from the waist down. The wearing of an apron has been used in religious ceremonies, for example, the Egyptian and Hebrew priests wore an Abnet which was considered an apron and it was meant to represent Authority.

What shoes do Masons wear?

Masonic Shoes Loafer, brogue or Oxford style shoes are the perfect smart footwear choice, ideally in a black, brown or Oxblood colour (depending on your Lodge restrictions).

What do masonic rings mean?

The ring of a Freemason is one way that they can recognize each other in public. It is an outward sign that they are a part of the world’s oldest fraternity and that they share similar values of this brotherhood. Simply put, the ring is kind of like a discrete version of a secret handshake!

What is the initiation to enter a Freemasonry lodge?

First Degree of Initiation. Also called the “Entered Apprentice” degree,this is the first stage of the Masonic initiation.

  • Second Degree of Initiation. Also called the “Fellowcraft Degree,” this is the second stage of the Masonic initiation.
  • Third Degree of Initiation.
  • Variations.
  • What do Freemasons do at the lodge?

    What Do Freemasons Do? The Masonic experience encourages members to become better men, better husbands, better fathers, and better citizens. The fraternal bonds formed in the Lodge help build lifelong friendships among men with similar goals and values.

    How much does it cost to become a Freemason?

    “Dues” are your annual membership fee and usually they are much lower than the petition fee- anywhere from 50 bucks to 200. So while freemasonry isn’t free, it’s also not cost prohibitive. Recent Post

    How to become a free Mason?

    Becoming a freemason is not an easy process. It takes a lot of dedication and determination to reach the level of brotherhood that this organization offers. In order to become a freemason, you have to be at least 18 years old (the minimum age varies in some jurisdictions, sometimes up to 21).