When did the Tigers sweep the Yankees?

Yankees swept by Tigers in ALCS The New York Yankees 2012 season came to an end with a whimper – and no offense – at the hands of the Detroit Tigers in the form of a four-game sweep.

Who did the Rangers beat in the 2011 ALCS?

Detroit Tigers
Texas Rangers over Detroit Tigers (4-2)

What year did the Detroit Tigers go to the World Series?

The Detroit Tigers have appeared in the World Series 11 times, in 1907, 1908, 1909, 1934, 1935, 1940, 1945, 1968, 1984, 2006 and 2012.

Is the ALCS best of 5 or 7?

The American League Championship Series (ALCS) is a best-of-seven playoff and one of two League Championship Series comprising the penultimate round of Major League Baseball’s (MLB) postseason. It is contested by the winners of the two American League (AL) Division Series.

Who is the most famous Detroit Tigers player?

1. Ty Cobb (1905-1926) One of the greatest center fielders in MLB history, Cobb spent 22 of his illustrious 24 seasons with the Tigers. Over that timespan, Cobb won an MVP and an unfathomable 11 batting titles.

Why are Detroit Tigers?

According to author Richard Bak in his book “A Place for Summer: A Narrative History of Tiger Stadium,” the reference was a tribute to the Detroit Light Guard, a military unit that dates back to the early 1800s and earned its Tigers nickname during the Civil War.

Did the Texas Rangers win the World Series in 2011?

The 107th edition of the World Series, it was a best-of-seven playoff played between the American League (AL) champion Texas Rangers and the National League (NL) champion St. Louis Cardinals; the Cardinals defeated the Rangers in seven games to win their 11th World Series championship and their first since 2006.

Were the Detroit Tigers ever good?

Detroit Tigers, American professional baseball team based in Detroit that plays in the American League (AL). The Tigers have won four World Series titles (1935, 1945, 1968, 1984) and 11 AL pennants.

Why is Detroit called the Tigers?

Why is ALDS best of 5?

The ALDS is a best-of-five series where the wild card team is assigned to play the divisional winner with the best winning percentage in the regular season in one series, and the other two division winners met in the other series with the team with the second best winning percentage, getting home-field.

How do MLB playoffs Work 2021?

Major League Baseball expanded its playoff field in the COVID shortened 2020 season but the playoffs returned to the standard 10-team format in 2021. While league officials pushed for a 14-team MLB postseason format in 2022, players wouldn’t go for it. and settled on a 12-team playoff.

Who is the best Tiger of all time?

Ty Cobb
1. Ty Cobb (1905-1926) One of the greatest center fielders in MLB history, Cobb spent 22 of his illustrious 24 seasons with the Tigers. Over that timespan, Cobb won an MVP and an unfathomable 11 batting titles.

What was the best Tigers team?

The winningest team in Detroit Tigers history was the 1984 squad that started the year 35-5 and finished with 104 wins. They continued their run with a three-game sweep of the Kansas City Tigers in the ALCS and won four of five against the San Diego Padres for their fourth World Series title.

Did Ty Cobb win a World Series?

Tigers: Ty Cobb But he never won a postseason series, and thus never reached the World Series.

Who won 2013 World Series?

Boston Red Sox2013 World Series / Champion

Who won the World Series in 2014?

San Francisco Giants2014 World Series / Champion

Has any MLB team come back from 2 0?

1985 World Series: Kansas City Royals The Royals overcame a 2-0 and a 3-1 deficit in both the ALCS and the World Series against the Cardinals, en route to the franchise’s first title.

What is the difference between the ALDS and ALCS?

In Major League Baseball, the American League Division Series (ALDS) determines which two teams from the American League will advance to the American League Championship Series. The Division Series consists of two best-of-five series, featuring the three division winners and the winner of the wild-card play-off.