Which Caribbean islands are owned by French?

The four French Caribbean islands — Martinique, St. Barts, Guadeloupe and St.

What Caribbean islands are French colonies?

The following Caribbean regions are predominantly French-speaking and/or French Creole-speaking:

  • French Republic. French Guiana. Guadeloupe. Martinique. Saint Barthélemy. Saint Martin.
  • Sovereign state(s) Dominica* Haiti. Saint Lucia*

On which Caribbean island do they speak French?

PAHO Countries and Centers: French-speaking Caribbean

Curaçao French Guiana
Guadeloupe Haiti
Martinique Sint Maarten

How many islands do the French own?

French Polynesia is a sprawling possession of France in the Pacific Ocean, made up of 118 volcanic and coral islands and atolls, including Tahiti.

Which islands do France own?

Did you know?

  • The Islands of Guadeloupe, Martinique, Saint-Martin, Saint-Barthélemy, Saint Pierre and Miquelon (Atlantic Ocean)
  • Reunion island, Mayotte, the French Southern and Antarctic Lands (Indian Ocean)
  • French Polynesia, New Caledonia, Wallis and Futuna (Pacific Ocean)

Is Martinique still French?

Martinique, like nearby Guadeloupe, is an overseas “department” of France, meaning it is a formal part of the country, a status that helps create a higher standard of living here than in many other area islands.

Is Guadeloupe French territory?

Since 1974 Guadeloupe has had the status of a full région of France. The territory of Guadeloupe is divided into two arrondissements (Basse-Terre and Pointe-à-Pitre), which are in turn divided into cantons and communes, each administered by an elected municipal council.

Is Martinique French?

What three islands in the Caribbean speak French?

French (official language of Guadeloupe, Haiti, Martinique, Saint Barthélemy, French Guiana and Saint-Martin)