Which countries were occupied by the Axis?

Other Axis states

  • Kingdom of Hungary.
  • Kingdom of Romania.
  • Slovak Republic.
  • Kingdom of Bulgaria.
  • Independent State of Croatia.
  • Republic of Finland.
  • Kingdom of Thailand.

What areas did the Axis powers conquer?

Countries Hitler Invaded in World War II (in order):

  • Poland — September 01, 1939.
  • Denmark and Norway — April 09, 1940.
  • France, Belgium, Netherlands, Luxembourg — May 10, 1940.
  • France (2nd offensive) — June 05, 1940.
  • Guernsey and Jersey (British Channel Islands) — June 30, 1940.
  • Greece — April 06, 1941.

What 3 nations were in the Axis?

Axis powers, coalition headed by Germany, Italy, and Japan that opposed the Allied powers in World War II.

Which 3 countries changed sides from Axis to allies?

4 Countries That Switched From the Axis Powers to the Allies

  • Romania. At the start of the war Romania was allied and Poland and pro-British.
  • Bulgaria. Another affiliate state, for most of the war Bulgaria was allied with the Axis Powers.
  • Finland.
  • Italy.

Why did Thailand join the Axis?

The partnership was not necessarily an equal one; their alliance was the result of the December 8 Japanese invasion of Thailand after failed negotiations, the Thai resistance lasting only hours before a ceasefire was declared. Like many countries, Thailand joined the Axis powers because of military pressure.

What countries were Axis powers in WW2?

^ Germany, Italy, and Japan are typically described as being the “major” (or similar) countries amongst the Axis powers. See e.g., Global strategy, Momah p. 71, or Encyclopedia of World War II, Tucker & Roberts, p. 102.

How many people live in the Axis countries?

The leading Axis states had the following domestic populations: Germany 75.5 million (including 6.8 million from recently annexed Austria), Japan 71.9 million (excluding its colonies), and Italy 43.4 million (excluding its colonies).

How did the axis of Europe get its name?

Benito Mussolini declared on 1 November 1936 that all other European countries would from then on rotate on the Rome–Berlin axis, thus creating the term “Axis”. The almost simultaneous second step was the signing in November 1936 of the Anti-Comintern Pact, an anti-communist treaty between Germany and Japan.

Where is Africa on the map?

This map of Africa includes most of the Mediterranean Sea and portions of southern Europe. It also includes most countries of the Middle East. It presents the continent in the form of a Lambert Azimuthal Equal Area Projection. It views the Earth from a point located directly above 10 degrees north latitude and 20 degrees east longitude.