Who founded African Union Day?

What was Haile Selassie I known for? As emperor of Ethiopia (1930–74), Haile Selassie I was known for modernizing his country, for helping to establish the Organization of African Unity (now the African Union) in 1963, for his exile (1936–41), and for being overthrown in 1974.

Why do we have African Union Day?

Africa Day is observed annually to commemorate the founding of the Organisation of African Unity (OAU), which was created on 25 May 1963. It was the precursor of the African Union (AU).

What are the African Union achievements?

The African Union has developed a well-oiled machine promoting peace and security. Its initiatives have included developing an institutional design for mediation, political dialogue, early warning systems and peace-support operations. These have changed the game of peace missions and led to relative success.

How old is the African Union?

The African Union (AU) is a continental body consisting of the 55 member states that make up the countries of the African Continent. It was officially launched in 2002 as a successor to the Organisation of African Unity (OAU, 1963-1999).

How did the African Union start?

On May 25 1963 in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, the 32 African states that had achieved independence at that time agreed to establish the Organization of African Unity (OAU). A further 21 members joined gradually, reaching a total of 53 by the time of the AU’s creation in 2002.

What Africa Day means?

Africa Day is celebrated every year on 25 May. It is an opportunity to celebrate African diversity and success, and to highlight the cultural and economic potential that exists on the African continent.

What happened on Africa Day?

Africa Day is an opportunity for Africans to remember that on May 25, 1963, 32 African countries signed the Charter of the Organization of African Unity (OAU), which later evolved into the African Union (AU). Only 30 of them were independent from colonial rule at the time.

How many countries are in the African Union?

55 Member States
The AU is made up of 55 Member States which represent all the countries on the African continent. AU Member States are divided into five geographic regions. which were defined by the OAU in 1976 (CM/Res.

Who designed the African Union flag?

Yadesa Bojia
Flag of the African Union

Proportion 2:3
Adopted 31 January 2010
Design A dark green map of the African continent, plus the Sinai Peninsula and offshore islands, on a white sun, surrounded by a circle of 55 5-pointed gold (yellow) stars, on a dark green field.
Designed by Yadesa Bojia