Why was President Estrada ousted?

Estrada, popularly called Erap, was resigned from office in 2001 during a popular uprising in Metro Manila after an aborted impeachment trial in which he was charged with plunder and perjury. Soon after his ouster, the same charges were filed against him at the Sandiganbayan.

How did Erap became president?

Estrada was elected president in 1998 with a wide margin of votes separating him from the other challengers and was sworn into the presidency on June 30, 1998.

Who is the vice president of Joseph Estrada?

In 2001, Gloria Macapagal Arroyo became president after the Supreme Court of the Philippines ruled that President Joseph Estrada resigned. A few days later, she appointed Teofisto Guingona as the vice president.

Who was the only president to have been impeached in the Philippines?

President Joseph Estrada was accused of bribery, graft and corruption, betrayal of public trust, and culpable violation of the Constitution during the impeachment of 2000, to determine the accusations, the House of Representatives choose 11 members to act as prosecutors with the Senate as the impeachment court and the …

Who is the first non Catholic president in the Philippines?

Corazon Aquino

Her Excellency Corazon Aquino CCLH
Vice President Salvador Laurel
Preceded by Ferdinand Marcos
Succeeded by Fidel V. Ramos
Personal details

Who is the 10th president of the Philippines?

Ferdinand Marcos

His Excellency Ferdinand Marcos
Marcos in 1982 during a ceremony
10th President of the Philippines
In office December 30, 1965 – February 25, 1986
Prime Minister Himself (1978–1981) Cesar Virata (1981–1986)

Who is the 14th president of the Philippines?

Gloria Macapagal Arroyo

Her Excellency Gloria Macapagal Arroyo
Arroyo at the World Economic Forum in 2009
14th President of the Philippines
In office January 20, 2001 – June 30, 2010
Vice President Teofisto Guingona (2001–2004) Noli de Castro (2004–2010)

Who is the 15th president in Philippines?

Benigno Aquino III

His Excellency Benigno Aquino III KGCR
Official portrait, 2015
15th President of the Philippines
In office June 30, 2010 – June 30, 2016
Vice President Jejomar Binay

Who are the impeachable Officers under the 1987 Constitution?

The President, the Vice-President, the Members of the Supreme Court, the Members of the Constitutional Commissions, and the Ombudsman may be removed from office on impeachment for, and conviction of, culpable violation of the Constitution, treason, bribery, graft and corruption, other high crimes, or betrayal of public …